jueves, 17 de septiembre de 2015

Paul McCartney says Beatles new 1+ video collection is brilliant

Exclusive! Paul McCartney on The Beatles’ “brilliant” new 1+ video collection
Michael Bonner
September 17, 2015

"It's great!" He tells us

The Beatles filming "Hey Jude", 4th September 1968. (Photo © Apple Corps Ltd)

Paul McCartney has spoken exclusively to Uncut about the forthcoming new edition of The Beatles 1.

McCartney – who is on the cover of the month’s issue of Uncut – gives us a sneak peek at what to expect from his former band’s latest release.

The Beatles 1+ compiles 50 promotional films and videos. These ‘mini movies’ were recorded by the band after the stopped touring and gave fans around the world the chance to see The Beatles at work and play.

As McCartney explains, some of the promotional material was recorded purely by chance.

“We’ve got all visuals associated with the hits on the album, 1,” he tells us. “All the music videos, and where there isn’t a music video – they’ve made some up! Which is brilliant. They’ve found footage.”

“‘Hey, Bulldog’ is to die for, as my wife would say,” McCartney continues. “It’s great, because there happened to be a camera crew there filming The Beatles at EMI while we were doing ‘Lady Madonna’. They were going to film a little bit of that, but they stayed and we got onto ‘Hey, Bulldog’. It’s great, and it all fits with the record because they filmed the take we used.”

Essentially a restored and expanded update of The Beatles’ 1 compilation from 2000, the 200-minute The Beatles 1+ includes the band’s 27 No 1 singles, with the restored videos, along with a second disc of 23 videos, including alternate versions, as well as rarely seen and newly restored films and videos; all include new audio mixes in deluxe CD/2DVD and CD/2Blu-ray packages. The original 27-track audio CD is also being made available with new stereo mixes.

They will be released on November 6 by Apple Corps Ltd/UMG.

A 2LP, 180-gram vinyl package will follow.

The footage was scanned in high-def 4K and the audio restored from the original analogue tapes at Abbey Road Studios by Giles Martin.

McCartney and Ringo Starr have provided exclusive audio commentary and filmed introductions respectively.

The Beatles 1 [CD; DVD; Blu-ray; CD/DVD; CD/Blu-ray]
DISC 1 AUDIO (CD) + DISC 1 VIDEO (DVD or Blu-ray)
1. Love Me Do
2. From Me To You
3. She Loves You
4. I Want To Hold Your Hand
5. Can’t Buy Me Love
6. A Hard Day’s Night
7. I Feel Fine
8. Eight Days a Week
9. Ticket To Ride
10. Help!
11. Yesterday
12. Day Tripper
13. We Can Work It Out
14. Paperback Writer
15. Yellow Submarine
16. Eleanor Rigby
17. Penny Lane
18. All You Need Is Love
19. Hello, Goodbye
20. Lady Madonna
21. Hey Jude
22. Get Back
23. The Ballad of John and Yoko
24. Something
25. Come Together
26. Let It Be
27. The Long and Winding Road
Paul McCartney audio commentary
Penny Lane
Hello, Goodbye
Hey Jude
Ringo Starr filmed introductions
Penny Lane
Hello, Goodbye
Hey Jude
Get Back

The Beatles 1+ (CD/2DVD; CD/2Blu-ray]
DISC 1 AUDIO (CD) + DISC 1 VIDEO (DVD or Blu-ray)
(same as above)
DISC 2 VIDEO (DVD or Blu-ray)
1. Twist & Shout
2. Baby It’s You
3. Words Of Love
4. Please Please Me
5. I Feel Fine
6. Day Tripper *
7. Day Tripper *
8. We Can Work It Out *
9. Paperback Writer *
10. Rain *
11. Rain *
12. Strawberry Fields Forever
13. Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows
14. A Day In The Life
15. Hello, Goodbye *
16. Hello, Goodbye *
17. Hey Bulldog
18. Hey Jude *
19. Revolution
20. Get Back *
21. Don’t Let Me Down
22. Free As A Bird
23. Real Love
Paul McCartney audio commentary
Strawberry Fields Forever

* alternate version

You can pre-order the 1 CD by clicking here.
You can pre-order the 1 DVD by clicking here.
You can pre-order the 1 Blu-ray by clicking here.
You can pre-order the 1 CD/DVD by clicking here.
You can pre-order the 1 CD/Blu-ray by clicking here.
You can pre-order the 1 deluxe CD/2 DVD by clicking here.
You can pre-order the 1 deluxe CD/2 Blu-ray by clicking here.

UNCUT October 2015

Uncut October 2015

Paul McCartney, Keith Richards, Kurt Vile and John Lydon are all in the new issue of Uncut, dated October 2015 and out on August 25.

McCartney is on the cover, and inside he discusses his old Beatles songwriting partner, John Lennon, George Harrison‘s “late blooming” talent, the upcoming reissues of his ’80s hits Tug Of War and Pipes Of Peace, and how he learned to “block the shit”.

“When I think of John, I think of us writing together,” says McCartney. “‘A Day In The Life’… stuff like that.”

The new issue of Uncut is in UK shops now and available to buy as a digital edition

Magazine - uk

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario